The Ice Age

Spring 1275. The whole of Europe freezes in an endless winter.
Mountain glaciers extend, the surface of some lakes remains frozen.
The sky is dark, full of sulfur aerosols coming from a distant land.
Some twenty years earlier, a tropical volcano, the Samalas, erupted.
The explosion was mega-colossal. To the point of generating a little ice age.

Combined with several successive minima of solar activity,
this planetary cooling era lasted some six hundred years.
Six centuries during which decline and apogee phases alternated.
Meanwhile, under the impulse of several heretic and enlightened scholars,
human societies freed themselves from the yoke of Christianity and evolved.

Slowly but surely, ideas, techniques abounded:
As our knowledge of natural phenomena progressed,
arose the desire, the will, the necessity to tame them, to dominate them.
Extracting more and more resources to produce more energy became needed.
By dissipating into the atmosphere, this surplus put an end to the Little Ice Age ...


The Ice Age

Information relating to this photography:
  • Photographic conditions : Sigma DP2 Quattro + HOYA PRO ND 16 - F/8 - 1/80 sec - ISO 100
  • Development tool of the photograph : SIGMA Photo Pro 6.3.3
  • Optimization of displaying colors on screen : Firefox 30.0 + Module Color Management 0.5.3
Keywords : volcanic eruption, Little Ice Age, science and technology, global warming, Lauragais, Tarn


ligne horizontale
This photograph gave rise to the creation of a work of art entitled « Le lac gelé » which is part of the « Contours » collection of the gallery dedicated to PhotoGraphism. This work of art appears as a tableau printed on a Forex plate (Fine Art printing on white PVC, 5 mm thick, matt finish) embedded in a black wooden Artbox frame. Only ten copies of this work are marketed internationally. A certificate of authenticity accompanies each tableau.

Frozen lake

Size : 30 cm x 80 cm - Printing support : Forex 5 mm - Black Artbox frame - EAN : 3701147001031

Price : 250 euros

Delivery time : 15 days - Delivery costs : 20 euros







ligne horizontale
This photograph and the corresponding work of art are published in a 50-page booklet entitled « PhotoGraphism: a new artistic language » designed for the purposes of the exhibition « PhotoGraphism: a fresh perspective » organized at the Dominique C. Gallery of the castle of Auriac sur Vendinelle (France) from the 17th May to the 17th June 2019. It gathers all the 24 works of art on display as well as the photographs from which they originate, one facing the other. This booklet written in French is available for 45 euros.


PhotoGraphisme     PhotoGraphisme

Size: 21 cm x 29,7 cm - Cover: Satin coated paper 350g - Glued square back

Sheets: satin coated paper 150g - Printing: Quadrichromy - EAN : 3701147001246

Price : 45 euros

Delivery time : 7 days - Delivery costs : 10 euros






Text on the back cover : « In their studio nestled in the heart of the Lauragais, between hills and valleys, Karine Gadré and Monique Samson meet their scientific and artistic views of the landscapes they have photographed. At heart, they have criss-crossed the Lauragais area, in the Occitanie region, and created a new artistic language called PhotoGraphism, which offers a renewed vision of our environment: three-dimensional, animated and poetic at the same time. This is followed by the creation of works of art structured in linear networks, modular grids and other undulating deformations, which, we hope, will propel the reader into an imaginary world that is at once luminous, dynamic and aerial, far from the reality photographed, yet everywhere present. »

ligne horizontale
Important Note: The Culture Diff' company undertakes to ensure that the collection and processing of your personal data, carried out via the www.culturediff.org portal, comply with the General Data Protection Regulations (RGPD) established on 25 May 2018 and the Data Protection Act of 6 January 1978. When transmitted to the Culture Diff' company, your personal data (first name, last name, postal and electronic addresses) therefore remain absolutely confidential. In addition, the Culture Diff' company has joined the PayPal payment system, so that your payments by credit card or PayPal account benefit from the highest security.
PayPal Logo

L'âge de glace

Printemps 1275. L'Europe toute entière se fige dans un interminable hiver.
Les glaciers de montagne s'étendent, la surface de certains lacs reste gelée.
Le ciel est sombre, chargé d'aérosols souffrés issus d'une lointaine contrée.
Une vingtaine d'années plus tôt, un volcan tropical, le Samalas, éruptait.
L'explosion fut méga-colossale. Au point de générer un petit âge glaciaire.

Conjuguée à plusieurs minima successifs de l'activité solaire,
cette ère de refroidissement planétaire perdura six cents années.
Six siècles durant lesquels alternèrent phases de déclin et d'apogée.
Parallèlement, sous l'impulsion de quelques savants hérétiques et éclairés,
les sociétés humaines se libérèrent du joug de la chrétienté et évoluèrent.

Lentement mais sûrement, les idées, les techniques, foisonnèrent :
à mesure que notre connaissance des phénomènes naturels progressait
surgissaient le désir, la volonté, la nécessité, de les apprivoiser, de les dominer.
Extraire toujours plus de ressources pour produire davantage d'énergie s'imposait.
En se dissipant dans l'atmosphère, ce surplus mit un terme au petit âge glaciaire ...


L'âge de glace

Informations relatives à cette photographie :
  • Conditions de prise de vue : Sigma DP2 Quattro + HOYA PRO ND16 - F/8 - 1/80 sec - ISO 100
  • Outil de développement de la photographie : SIGMA Photo Pro 6.3.3
  • Optimisation de l'affichage des couleurs à l'écran : Navigateur Firefox 30.0 + Module Color Management 0.5.3
Mots-clés : éruption volcanique, petit âge glaciaire, sciences et techniques, réchauffement climatique, Lauragais, Tarn


ligne horizontale
Cette photographie a donné lieu à la création d'une oeuvre d'art baptisée « Le lac gelé » issue de la collection « Contours » de la galerie consacrée au PhotoGraphisme. Cette oeuvre d'art est disponible sous forme de tableau imprimé sur une plaque de Forex (PVC blanc, 10 mm d'épaisseur, finition mate) enchâssé dans une caisse américaine en bois de couleur noire et livré avec un dispositif d'attaches murales. Seuls dix exemplaires de cette oeuvre sont commercialisés à l'échelle internationale. Un certificat d'authenticité accompagne chaque tableau.

Le lac gele

Format : 30 cm x 80 cm - Support : Forex 10 mm - Encadrement : caisse américaine

Livré avec un dispositif d'attaches murales - EAN : 3701147001031

Prix : 250 euros

Délai de livraison : 10 jours - Frais de livraison : 15 euros







ligne horizontale
Cette photographie et l'oeuvre d'art correspondante font l'objet d'une publication au sein d'un livret de 50 pages intitulé « PhotoGraphisme : un nouveau langage artistique » conçu pour les besoins de l'exposition « PhotoGraphisme : Regards croisés » organisée à à la Galerie Dominique C. du château d'Auriac sur Vendinelle (31) du 17 mai au 17 juin 2019. Il rassemble la totalité des 24 oeuvres d'art exposées ainsi que les photographies dont elles sont issues, les unes figurant face aux autres. Ce livret est commercialisé au tarif de 45 euros.


PhotoGraphisme     PhotoGraphisme

Format : 21 cm x 29,7 cm - Couverture : Papier couché satiné 350g - Dos carré collé

Feuillets : papier couché satiné 150g - Impression : Quadrichromie - EAN : 3701147001246

Prix : 45 euros

Délai de livraison : 7 jours - Frais de livraison : 5 euros






Texte figurant en quatrième page de couverture : « Dans leur atelier niché au coeur du Lauragais, entre côteaux et vallées, Karine Gadré et Monique Samson croisent leurs regards scientifiques et artistiques sur les paysages qu’elles ont photographiés. Baroudeuses dans l'âme, elles ont sillonné le Lauragais, en région Occitanie Midi Pyrénées, et créé un nouveau langage artistique baptisé PhotoGraphisme, qui offre une vision renouvelée de notre environnement : tridimensionnelle, animée et poétique à la fois. S’ensuit la création d’oeuvres d’art structurées en réseaux linéaires, grilles modulaires et autres déformations ondulatoires, qui, nous l'espérons, propulseront le lecteur dans un monde imaginaire à la fois lumineux, dynamique et aérien, bien loin de la réalité photographiée pourtant partout présente. »

ligne horizontale
Note importante : L'entreprise Culture Diff' s'engage à ce que la collecte ainsi que le traitement de vos données personnelles, effectués à partir du portail www.culturediff.org, soient conformes au Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données (RGPD) instauré le 25 mai 2018 ainsi qu'à la loi Informatique et Libertés du 6 janvier 1978. Lorsque saisies sur le site www.culturediff.org, vos informations personnelles (nom, prénom, adresses postale et électronique) demeurent absolument confidentielles. Par ailleurs, l'entreprise Culture Diff' a adhéré au système de paiement PayPal, de sorte que vos paiements par carte bancaire ou par compte PayPal bénéficient de la sécurité la plus élevée.

PayPal Logo